I Made 4 Promises To Myself In The Depths of Grieving

I Made 4 Promises To Myself In The Depths of Grieving

M cautioned me grieving could cover me with a fog so dense I’d not be able to find my way through. She suggested I make four promises to myself and renew the promises each day. Making the promises and renewing them each day were small steps, but I’ve always kept my word. This time, the challenge was to keep the promises I made to myself. Here is an excerpt from Dancing Alone: Learning to Live Again:

“My first promise is if I fall down, I will not stay down and feel sorry for myself. I will get up and get going. 

My second promise is to find meaning in Babe’s death and use it to help create a sense of purpose in my life.”

“My third promise is to love and forgive myself. I’ve learned the most important person in the grieving process is me. I am the person life asked to continue living. If I don’t, everything else will disappear. Before I can love anyone or anything else, I must learn to love myself.”

“My fourth promise is to see, love, and serve my Lord in all my brothers and sisters and in all His creations. I’ve changed. I’m different. My world has changed and so has what I want to do with my life.”

Ordering information for the paperback or ebook version of Dancing Alone: Learning to Live Again may be found at https://dancingalone530.com/dancing-alone/

Excerpt From: Dancing Alone: Learning to Live Again by Ray Calabrese. This material is protected by copyright.

Author: Ray Calabrese

I am an optimistic, can do, and never quit guy. The spirit of hope indelibly marks my DNA. My research at The Ohio State University helped people discover the best in themselves and change their personal lives, public organizations, and whole communities. I bring the same spirit and enthusiasm to my blog to help those who grieve who find themselves suddenly alone, navigate their grieving. Join my more than 24,300Twitter (@alwaysgoodstuff). I promise my tweets are always good stuff. Please feel free to email me at ray.brese@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.